Making an Impact

schoolAs the semester has begun, I have already become stressed. Now this is not to say that I’m ready to throw in the towel by any means (it is my last semester, after all), but I am already finding myself to feel as though I have bit off more than I can chew.

That aside, let me talk about the classes that I believe will have a huge impact on me: On-line Magazine and Writing for Business and Technology.

Even though I’ve had one class so far in On-line Magazine, I can already tell I’m going to enjoy this class. Why? I’ll be able to publish more pieces of my work to be able to have a stronger presence not only online, but also when it comes time to apply for a job. The professor wants us to learn the importance of this small fact of publishing, and so she wants us not only to branch out into a blog atmosphere like this, but to also send stories to various companies, including the university’s online alternative magazine, Detour.

It’s a great feeling to think that more of my works will be published, and therefore I will be able to, hopefully, grasp the attention of potential employers in the upcoming months.

That is also why she wanted us to create a portfolio on a site like WordPress. I’ve added some of my better works to my current portfolio page, as was a requirement of the assignment, but also to say, “Hey, I can do this type of work, too!”

As for Writing for Business and Technology, the professor doesn’t want to focus on just learning how to write resumes, but rather she wants to be able to help the students to reach further and beyond just the entry level job. And so we get the task of rewriting the course description to better fit the needs of what it means to actually write for a business or technology.

Sounds pretty cool, right?

So far I’m enjoying the class and have learned about six literacies that are fundamental to not only the classroom, but also the workplace: basic, rhetorical, ethical, social, technological, and critical. Though each can be taught individually, it is more important to teach them in a much more collaborative sense as each is of equal importance.

These two classes in particular, I believe, will help to drive me into my future. I hope that whatever may come of it, I will be impacted by it in the best possible way.

Leave a Reply

