Mini-Series Part 4: Audience

First, I would like to apologize for my lack of posts the past few weeks – life had had a strong hold on me and I had no hope of escape.

Second, welcome to the last segment in my mini-series on building a story: audience!

Previously I had talked about character, setting, and content development, but today I’m going to talk about audience and the importance of writing for your audience. I have personally gained the knowledge about writing for audience in various classes I’ve taken here at my university, so it would be near impossible to cite any and all sources I’ve come across over the years.

Anyway, audience is probably the most important aspect of writing a story besides the actual writing portion of it! Why? Well, you want to be able to tailor your story to a certain audience before you decide to get it published – if you get it published.

Do you want to write for children or teens? Fiction or fantasy? Biographical or historical? There are many, many genres of writing out there and each story is tailored specifically to that genre. So before you think about writing your story in its entirety, try to think about who you want to write it for: who your target audience is.

Here’s a few tips I’ve gained over the years:

Don’t think vague; get specific! You don’t want to think too broadly on this one. Yes, some stories can span a multitude of genres, but think about the specific audience you want to write for: college students? Children between the ages of 8 and 12? Adults who like specifically romance?

Don’t expect to please everyone. Seriously, don’t get your hopes up. There is always going to be someone who isn’t happy with what you’ve written, but that doesn’t mean you should give up trying your best at what you’ve got! In fact, it should encourage you to try even harder!

Research other novels, authors, publishers, etc. before you get too far into your story. If you get an idea for how people are writing and what publishers are looking for you’ll be able to tailor your story even further to better suit the needs of who you want to publish with.

Ask family and/or friends who are around the age or group you are looking to write for to read what you’ve written and how you can make changes. Your family may try to be nice in saying your story is good, but if you know that something’s lacking you should stick your foot down and ask for any and all honest opinions and critiques. It is better to get a sense of whether or not your story is working for the audience you were initially writing for or not from someone who cares about you before giving it to someone who might just toss it out upon first glance.

Though these are just a few examples of why you should consider your audience for your story. It will help to make your story that much better and you’ll be able to put more into the story than not.

There are plenty of resources out there for you to consider when writing a story, but just try to also come up with your own as you go. You’ll get the hang of it as you go. You can use these tips for both story writing and blog writing.

Blog writing and story writing are two different things, though, so though I didn’t focus on blog writing this time around I will do my best to do a future mini-series that is dedicated to blog writing.

I hope you enjoyed my first mini-series. I still have a lot more to learn when it comes to doing these kinds of things (mini-series and advice giving), but I hope that I’ve done just that in my mini-series!

If any of you has any advice or tips for me on how you write a story or blogging or anything, leave a comment!

2 responses to “Mini-Series Part 4: Audience

  1. Hmmm, let me share the question that rattles around in my head too often than I would like: How can you write an experimental literary piece that is also approachable and even likeable to the general reader? They always seem to come out so heady.

    • Hmm, good question. I think that if you write an experimental piece and you’re trying to reach out to the “general reader,” you have to define what that general reader may look like. What age bracket are you aiming for? What gender? Are you trying to be universal in your writing? There are many questions to ask when writing an experimental piece, I think.

      Also, if you want to give it a try, instead of writing to the general reader put yourself in the reader’s shoes and see if YOU would find it approachable and likeable if you were on the other side of the page. It might help you to mold it into a better statement or form than if you were to just leave it as is.

      This is a tough question, though, so I’d definitely have to think and even research more on the subject! Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

