NaNoWriMo 2014

Sorry for the lack of posts, but I’ve been super busy with working and getting ready for my wedding on November 1st.

Speaking of November, that’s when National Novel Writing Month is happening!

Haven’t heard about it? NaNoWriMo is a yearly event where writers of all writing levels take part in trying to reach the goal of 50k words in 30 days.

You’re probably wondering, “How in the world is anyone supposed to write that many words in that short of time?”

It’s actually quite possible. Many people have achieved that goal and went beyond it within the time allotted, or even sooner. When inspiration strikes it’s hard to get it to stop.

This year I will be participating in NaNoWriMo (even though it starts the day I get married). I already have an idea in place and I am really excited to be able to start.

My story is going to be a Young Adult sci-fi-ish novel based around a boy who ends up finding his way into an alternate world where he runs into himself – literally – and switches places with his alternate self to escape the real world. Upon finding himself there, though, he discovers that this alternate world is a lot more dangerous than what he had expected and he has to survive it if he wants to get back home.

I have the ending in mind, I have bits and pieces of how I want it to play out, but that’s all I’m probably going to give right now.

If you’re thinking about joining NaNo this year, or if you’re a returning member, add me as a writing buddy! I’d love to be able to read your stories and communicate with you as to how your progress is going.

Also, if you’re prepping for NaNo, don’t forget some supplies that you’ll probably want for the month: USB drive to save your stories in case some cataclysmic event happens to your computer; a computer or some other form of writing device (tablet, paper & pen, etc.); notebook to jot ideas down; coffee or tea to keep you up; and lots of supportive people who will bring your spirits up rather than kick you under the bus.

NaNoWriMo is a fun, long, and stressful time, but it’s also worth while because at the end of it you’ll be able to say, “I wrote 50,000 words in 30 days.” It won’t be pretty, and it’ll definitely need to be polished afterwards, but you made it.

In case you’re wondering, I’m going to try doing daily/weekly videos on my YouTube channel, plus some entries here, so if you want to check those out, please do!

2 responses to “NaNoWriMo 2014

  1. Pingback: Camp NaNoWriMo | Keep Moving Forward

  2. Pingback: Epiphanies Are Amazing | Keep Moving Forward

Leave a Reply

