Keeping Promises and Making Schedules

You know, writing things down is great and all, but if I’m not even going to stick to the schedule that I write down, then why did I waste the paper?

I don’t know.

But that’s not really the point of this post, I promise. And actually, that’s part of what this post is about: making promises and keeping them. More importantly: making promises to yourself and keeping them.

It’s one thing to make a public declaration or make a promise to someone else to do something and not follow through. 1) Depending on the promise, people will have forgotten or don’t mind that you forgot to keep it. 2) Keep your promises to others. Seriously.

But when you make a promise to yourself and you break it, you’re only hurting yourself without knowing it.

That’s what it’s come down to in my writing life.

I’m focused on work, reading, getting reviews in, and other things that aren’t my passion. Every. Single. Time that I write I rekindle that love and fire and passion that I have for the art. And then I think to myself, “Why don’t I do this everyday? I mean, that is the number one advice that I seem to see many authors give.”

I think it has something to do with discipline and my lack of it. I can make all the schedules and promises in the world, but if I don’t have the discipline to go through with them, then there’s really no point in making them in the first place.

To give an example: this blog. I said I’d post at least twice a month since I’ve really started to love my reading blog more than this one (no offense), but did I follow through with that after I made that post? No. I couldn’t even write two posts last month. Two posts out of twenty-eight days. I mean, really, why was it so hard?

The thing about my writing, though, and the story rewrite that I’m working on, is that yes, I may love it at the time I’m writing, but when I’m at my most active is usually when I’m either in work, getting ready for work, doing something else, etc. I know I’m most active between 11AM and 2PM, but sometimes I’m just not available to do what I need to get things done.

Yeah, that’s part of the problem, but another is not keeping to a schedule or even a set of goals. I’m trying, though. I am.

I know I said a little earlier that making public promises is easy to dismiss, but I’m making a public promise now: when it comes to my writing I have some goals and I plan on sticking to them.

Yes, I want to be a published author one day, but that’s not my main focus. My main focus is to share my content with the world, to be able to share my love and passion for this beautiful art that is writing.

And so here are my goals to achieve that:

  • Write at least 1,000 words every weekday (Mon-Fri)
  • Write at least 500 words every weekend (Sat-Sun)

Easy flipping goals, right? If I keep to that goal, writing AT LEAST that amount every day, I should be able to finish my story to completion.

I’ll probably come up with other goals and challenges as I go and I’ll keep updated here.

I have a loose schedule as my work schedule fluxes, so I’m not going to post it here. I just need to write every day. That’s it. There’s no excuse for writer’s block, no excuse of being too tired or sick or whatever. I just need to write.

Writing is hard. Sticking to it is harder. But if I want to make a career out of this, or at least do what I love for as long as I can, then I need to start now before I regret never doing it.

Have/do you struggle with something similar? Do you have any writing goals yourself? What about promises you’ve made in terms of your writing that you haven’t kept or are working on keeping? Do schedules work for you? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

