Camp NaNoWriMo Day One: Getting Started

So I’m thinking I’m going to do some posting about my process and how  well my progress is going with Camp NaNoWriMo this month. I’ll do weekly wrap-ups every Saturday, so expect those, but I may do a post or two during the week about something that inspired a great deal of writing, something that may have put a damper on it, writing from different perspectives, tenses, whatever comes to mind.

As for today, I wanted to talk about getting started with the whole writing process.

As many of you know I participated in NaNoWriMo back in November and wrote over 50,000 words. That’s the equivalent of writing a 200-220 page book. That’s a really great achievement, if you ask me. It was fun and enriching not only for myself, but for my inner writer. It’s been wanting to come out ever since then and take over, but I’ve kept it at bay. Well, now that Camp NaNoWriMo is here, I have no excuse to hold back anymore.

I was originally going to work on my draft of the story I wrote back in November. I still am, but for Camp I’m going to be writing a whole new story, one I’m actually really excited about.

So what I love about Camp NaNoWriMo is that it’s a much more relaxed version of NaNoWriMo in that you can set your own word count goal, starting from 10k words up to (I think) 1 million? I could be totally wrong on that, BUT the point is is that you can set your own word count goal. So it’s much more relaxed if you only feel like writing a shorter story than back in November.

Well, I had set my word count goal to 20k words. Doable, short, and I already had an idea that I fell absolutely in love with and was begging to be written.

But as I thought more and more about it, I raised my goal from 20k to 50k words. Yup, I’m going for another small novel length again.

As for my progress, I’m over 5.5k words and it’s only day one. Suffice to say, it’s been a really good writing day for me.

My story is going to be bigger than I thought it was, at least I’m hoping. I love the idea I had and I really want to expand upon the world and characters and everything this month.

Here’s the synopsis I wrote for it:

“Eighteen year old Abby knew she’d be working as a maid from when she was a little girl. Her mother had been a maid, as had her grandmother, and so she knew she’d have to continue the family line and work in the palace to continue their work. But she didn’t want to be a maid, she wanted freedom and a choice for herself, though she knew she couldn’t have it.

Maddock has been training to be part of the royal guard since he was fourteen and has since gone through the ranks to become the youngest Captain the palace has ever had. Now at twenty-two, he is one of the deadliest and coldest men on the field. He’s always wanted this life and strives to serve his kingdom.

Until one day when the threat of war from an ally comes and the two soon realize that they may need each other more than they realize.”

I’m excited about it. Really excited.

Now I’m not here to brag or anything like that, so let me give you a few piece of advice if you’re struggling with your novel:

  1. Have fun with it. This is probably the most important piece of advice I, or anyone, can give for this event. If you’re not having fun writing your new story, then change it up and add something to it that’ll help you to have fun.
  2. Start in the middle or the end, not the beginning. If you’re having a really hard time starting from the beginning of your novel, just write the scene that’s really stuck in your head rather than the scenes that will eventually lead up to that one. Even if your tone changes from beginning to middle to end, it’s okay; that’s what the editing months are for.
  3. Just write. Really, that’s the simplest way I can put it. Even if you write 100 words for that day, you’re still 100 words closer to your goal. Keep going and don’t give up.
  4. Don’t fall behind. It’s seriously really, really hard to catch up if you’ve fallen behind (I learned that the hard way back in November). Try to keep up with your goal, but don’t strain yourself.
  5. Talk to others in your cabin or on the forums. Talking to other writers can really be inspiring and raise your morale. Try it out a few times.

I know it can be intimidating to write anything sometimes, but just give it a go. You won’t succeed if you never try, so keep your head up and write on.

One response to “Camp NaNoWriMo Day One: Getting Started

  1. Pingback: Camp NaNoWriMo Day 4: Feeling Like a Boss | Keep Moving Forward

Leave a Reply

