Camp NaNoWriMo Day 21: I’m a Winner!

I won Camp NaNoWriMo today with 50,489 words, according to their validator. I am SO happy and proud of myself and I’m so glad I stuck with it. This month has been a whirlwind of ups and downs, but the ups have always been so much better than the downs.

winner

So this month has been a struggle. The beginning of the month was amazing and I wrote about 26,000 words in the first seven days. Pretty damn impressive, if I do say so myself.

Here’s how my stats looked throughout the month:

statsgraph stats

My average was obviously higher at the beginning of the month considering how many times I plateaued and didn’t write for days on end, but hey, it’s cool.

Most of the time I was ahead of the game. Actually, I stayed ahead of the game even though my count caught up to me (I was still about 500 words ahead).

Today alone I wrote almost 15,000 words. Suffice it to say, my brain is exhausted. I started at 6AM this morning and after 5k words, took a nap, and then just kept going and going until I reached my goal.

My story has been progressing nicely and I’m really enjoying it so far. I’m still not done, though, even though I reached my word count goal for the month. It’s crazy to think that I’m creating this story, that this story isn’t even done and it could lead to a potential two more books. I’m freaking pumped.

Though there were some rough times, I look back on them as times I just needed to rest. They were times I needed to just relax and not worry about word count goals or winning anything. When I wrote just for me, and saw that word count go up and up, I was happy.

Now that I’ve won and Camp is over for now, I’m going to keep writing my story to its completion. But now at a much more relaxed pace.

I’m very thankful for the support I’ve had so far and the support I hope to have as I continue on this journey as a writer. It’s definitely an adventure, but I wouldn’t wish for any other.

How has your writing been coming along? Have you reached your word count goal yet? How far behind/ahead are you? There’s still time to win this thing, so keep going! Keep writing!

5 responses to “Camp NaNoWriMo Day 21: I’m a Winner!

  1. Your stats look similar to mine. You stopped writing for days at a time, but you were never behind. Congrats on winning so early! Now, as you said, you can finish your novel in peace. 🙂

Leave a Reply

